Andrew Murray Prize


Tributes to Albert Nolan: Reluctant Prophet 
Edited by: Mike Deeb, Philippe Denis and Mark James



The winner is Tributes to Albert Nolan: Reluctant Prophet edited by Mike Deeb, Philippe Denis and Mark James and published by University of Johannesburg Press.

This impressive book with 72 articles by a number of different authors shines a light on the life, faith and writing of Albert Nolan as pastor, priest, prophet and political activist. “The contributors’ differing perspectives ultimately offer a comprehensive view of a life’s journey for our time, and a freeing message of Christ to act fairly in today’s world. It is the connection of theological insight with concrete issues of justice within the community, with a call to action which makes this book and Nolan’s life relevant in every context.This work has the potential to initiate conversation about Christians’ image of God, not only in South Africa, but worldwide, given the tendency towards “inwards” forms of nationalism.

The judges are Miranda Pillay, Nontando Hadebe and Fanie Snyman.

The following persons won the Andrew Murray-Desmond Tutu Prize in the Christian and Theological Books category :

Year Winner(s)
2007 Wentzel van Huyssteen, Alone in the world?, published by Wm B Eerdmans Publishing Co
2008 John W de Gruchy, Being Human, published by SCM Press
2009 Vincent Brümmer, What are we doing when we pray?, published by Ashgate Publishing and Len Hanses (Editor), Christian in Public published by Sun Press
2010 2010: Paddy Kearney, Guardian of the Light, published by Continuum
2011 Piet J Naudé, Neither Calender not Clock – Perspectives on the Belhar Confesstion, published by Wm B Eerdmans Publishing Co
2012 John W de Gruchy, John Calvin – Christian Humanist and Evangelical Reformer, published by Lux Verbi.BM
2013 Michael Lapsley, Redeeming the Past, gepubliseer deur Struik Christian Media
2014 John W de Gruchy, Led into Mystery – Faith Seeking Answers in Life and Death, gepubliseer deur SCM Press
2015 Denise Ackermann Surprised by the Man on the Borrowed Donkey uitgegee deur Lux Verbi
2016 Elna Mouton, Len Hansen, Gertrude Kapuma, Thomas Togom (redakteurs), Living with dignity, uitgegee deur Sun Press
2017 Yolande Korkie, 558 Days/558 Dae, uitgegee deur CUM
2018 Louis Jonker: Defining all-Israel in Chronicles, uitgegee deur Mohr Siebeck
2019 Jaap Durand: In Awesome Wonder, uitgegee deur Bybelkor
2020 Rachel Sophia Baard: Sexism and Sin-talk, uitgegee deur Westminster John Knox Press
2021 Hykie Berg: Ultimate Survivor, uitgegee deur Lux Verbi
2022 Andries van Aarde Jesus, Paul and Matthew, uitgegee deur Cambridge Scholars Publishers
2023 Retief Muller: The Scots Afrikaners: Identity Politics and Intertwined Religious Cultures

The following person won the Andrew Murray-Desmond Tutu Prize in the Theological Articles category :

2007 Cornel du Toit for the article Secular Spirituality versus Secular Dualism: Towards postsecular holism as model for a natural theology which appeared in the Reformed Theological Studies of 2006.

The following persons won the Andrew Murray-Desmond Tutu Prize in the category Christian Image and Sound Productions :

2007 The mass media project for the television series Eight Weeks, Eight Values, One National Conversation which was broadcast on SABC 2 from 16 July to 10 September 2006
2008 Frans Cronjé, Global Creative for feature film Faith like Potatoes

Copyright © 2023 Andrew Murray-Prys